Questions
The questions we are asked, including the hard ones.
If yours is not here, send it. We will answer it and, if it is a good one, add it.
The score, the evidence and the audit
Our auditor won't accept a self-declared score.
Nor should they treat it as audit evidence. The score is a management summary. What an auditor examines is the figures behind it, and those come with a document and a grade, a carbon table by scope with the factor, source and edition on every line, and a published method. Yarta does not provide assurance and does not certify compliance with any standard; it is designed to make an assurance provider's job faster.
Is the Yindyamarra Score an accredited rating?
No. It is self-declared under Yarta's own published method, versioned, and shown in full on the method page. It is not an accredited rating, a certification or third-party verification, and must not be described as one.
How do you calculate emissions?
Scope 1 from your fuel and gas, Scope 2 from your electricity, and Scope 3 for the categories you report, at the National Greenhouse Accounts factors for the year. Avoided emissions from recycling are shown separately, as an estimate, and never deducted from your inventory or presented as an offset.
Can we say we are carbon neutral because of the report?
No. A Yarta Report does not create offsets or credits and does not support a carbon-neutral claim.
Our data
Our data is a mess.
Start with what exists. A category with no record is marked not reported and left out of the score; it is never guessed. Send the bills and reports you hold, and the monthly email tells you what is still needed. The baseline can be partial at the start and improves as older records are found.
We already report kerbside data to the state.
Keep doing it. Yarta uses the same records, so there is nothing to key twice on your side, and adds what the state return does not: energy, fleet, water, land, nature and community, a score against the eco standards, a benchmark for your sector and a roadmap.
Who enters the data?
Yarta does. You enter the figures from the records you already hold, in a question set shaped for your industry, and attach the bill or docket where you have it. A named Yarta analyst verifies every month before it reaches your report.
What if we do not have a record for something?
Say so. In the portal you can declare a category not reported for a month, with a note. It is left out of the score and nobody chases you for it.
We have many sites.
Each site has its own figures, score and report; the organisation report is their sum. The gap email goes to each site's contact, and a site is only asked for the categories it reports on.
Privacy and control
Who can see our data?
People you authorise, the Yarta staff who enter and verify it, and the service providers that run Yarta under contract. Your data is never shared with, shown to or pooled with another customer. Read the privacy policy.
How can you benchmark us without sharing other customers' data?
Benchmarks are published figures from named public sources, printed on the report with their source and period. Yarta does not build benchmarks from customers' data. The table is on the method page.
What if we stop?
You keep every report issued. You can export your data for 90 days after the subscription ends, and after that Yarta holds the reports and their evidence for the retention period in the privacy policy and then deletes them.
The work and the price
Does Yarta do the work on the roadmap?
No. Yarta measures, benchmarks and suggests, and introduces providers who hold the licence or accreditation the work requires. The contract is between you and the provider, and Yarta takes no fee for the introduction. Where a Recycle Group business does the work, the report says so.
Can we use our own contractors?
Yes. Yarta reports the whole organisation, whoever supplies the data. Your contractors' reports are used as evidence, graded for what they are.
What does it cost?
An annual subscription, priced by the month: business from $999 to $2,999 by staff numbers, and councils from $1,999. No charge per report, site or category. The pricing page has the detail, including Foundation Members.
How long until we are live?
Thirty days, in four weeks. See the onboarding plan.
Can we publish the report?
Yes, as issued. Please do not alter it and present it as Yarta's, and do not describe the score as accredited or verified by a third party.
How reliable are the "with Yarta help" estimates?
They come from published rules applied to your own figures. They are estimates, not promises; the next report shows what actually changed.
Switched on in 30 days
See your Yarta impact before you commit.
Send one month of data and we will show you what Yarta makes of it.
